FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Lephalale Municipality's drivers awarded

LEPHALALE, 12 September 2014 - Lephalale municipality can now truly say that it has some of the best drivers in the region. This after several drivers from different departments received awards at the annual Driver of the Year competition, hosted by the Department of Roads and Transport recently.

Issac Hlong from the municipality's Parks division won first prize in the rigid trucks category. During the competition drivers had to prove their ability on the track as well as on the road. Peace Mabe, road safety officer for the Department said on Friday that he is very proud of Hlong who competed against veteran drivers when he entered the competition for the first time this year.

William Rathoko who is a driver in the Public Works division came second in the LDV category. The other participants who received recognition for good driving are: Dikeledi Molaontoa (Parks), Jan Mogagola (Parks), Anis Mojela (Public Works), Steve Kekana (Public Works) and Abel Lewatle (Fire Fighters).

Cllr M L Shongwe who has the Roads and Transport portfolio in the Lephalale council said that she is especially proud of Kikeledi Moloantoa who was one of only a few women participants.

The drivers received their awards from the Mayor of Lephalale, Cllr Mokolo Jack Maeko, Cllr M L Shongwe and Cllr Astrid Basson at a special event held in their honor at the Municipality on Friday.

Captions:

Photo 0366: Acting Municipal Manager, Charles Lekaka congratulates the team of drivers. 0363: Issac Hlong from the municipality's Parks division won first prize in the rigid trucks category. 0362: William Rathoko who is a driver in the Public Works division came second in the LDV category.

Contact:

Valerie Cilliers Communications Officer LEPHALALE MUNICIPALITY Tel: 0147621634 Valerie.cilliers@lephalale.gov.za